Old growing tables finally put to use


My husband and I made growing tables 6 years ago but since moving into our new house 5 years ago they were shoved into the back of the garage and piled with… well all kind of stuff really. It was a huge task to uncover them! It was very necessary however. My broccoli were starting to get leggy (see photo below) even in the sunny window I have them in. Not acceptable.


One table was brought into the house by the door leading to the garden and the second table is on the back unheated patio. I plan to use the second patio table to harden off new plants before going into the garden and also as an outdoor/nice weather work bench and tool storage.

So far I have broccoli, bunching onions, leeks, chives and marigolds started. I am starting tomatoes, cherry tomatoes, green peppers and jalapeno peppers today!

Note: Using all heirloom seeds in my garden.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Stats

    • 11,793 hits
  • Fatbirder's Top 1000 Birding Websites Nature Blog Network
