American Robin with white collar

This robin has been hanging out around the back of the house for weeks.  The two others are dominating the front of the property pretty well.  This white-collared robin has a pretty nice set-up in the back but today I caught him/her (having a hard time figuring that out, looks more female to me but…) up front in the other robins territory, at the bird bath.  The white collar feathers go all the way around the neck and the chest is more white than other robins I’ve seen around here.  This is actually the first time I’ve seen a robin like this… here or out birding in my area.  I’ll be watching closely to see if any offspring come from this bird and if they carry the same white collar.

Comments
7 Responses to “American Robin with white collar”
  1. McBird says:

    Had a small flock (approcimately 20) of these on my property in Southern NJ for one-two days in early October. Robins with white collar ring and occasional white flecks on orange breast

  2. springman says:

    Wonderful shots!
    You would be welcome to contribute and help to begin a new endeavour called “World Bird Wednesday” a chance for bird photographers to share and spread word of their blogs to others!
    Visit http://pineriverreview.blogspot.com/ and check it out!
    Springman!

  3. Shelly says:

    She returned this spring! Saw her out today in the neighbors yard and got a couple photos. Will be putting up a post later today. How exciting to see her return.

  4. We have a white-collared robin this spring. Never saw one before, was searching to see if there was such a thing when I found your post.

  5. Jane says:

    I have a white collared Robin in my backyard. This is the first time I have seen one. I live in Central Ohio.

  6. Dori says:

    Most of our Robins have white feathers – not all around the neck, some are more on the top of the head and cheeks. I noticed this change between a year and two ago – I thought maybe it was something odd that happened around here with environmental changes – I’m in Nebraska, near Omaha.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] I was so excited yesterday to see that we have a white-collared American Robin back this year.  I really am not certain it is the same robin from last year but I will say this, I have never seen a Robin with a white-collar (ever) until last year and this one has returned to the same exact location as that one.  I would love to compare the markings of the bird if I can get some close up photos, like those I got last year while it sat on my bird bath.  You can see that post here. […]



Leave a Reply

  • Blog Stats

    • 11,612 hits
  • Fatbirder's Top 1000 Birding Websites Nature Blog Network
