I have always been a bird lover

My dad gave me an old box of family albums and loose photos to go through and copy for my genealogy project I have been working on for 10 years or so.  He has a lot of old newspaper clippings and things like that in there.  Lots of great stuff really.  Imagine my excitement though when I came across this photo of myself with a little birdy!  I have never seen this photo before.  Most of them (of me anyway) I can say, oh yes, seen it and have a copy in my baby album or whatever.  This one is new, to me.

Now you other birders help me out.  Does this bird look like a juvenile Rose-breasted Grosbeak to you?  That’s my guess.  I believe this photo was either taken in Michigan or Indiana.  There is a weeping willow in the back ground too.

 

Sept 1982

Here is a gallery of Rose-breasted Grosbeak photos (juveniles included) not taken by me but by Bob Mullen.  I wish I could see if the bird in my photo has wing bars.  The beak, speckled breast and eye area match a Rose-breasted Grosbeak well though.

 

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Stats

    • 11,449 hits
  • Fatbirder's Top 1000 Birding Websites Nature Blog Network
