Suicide Warblers

I don’t know what it is about spring and my house… oh, and the warblers!  Two years ago a Bay-breasted Warbler somehow got stuck on my porch.  We found him (a beautiful male) while doing some spring cleaning.  I have yet to see a live Bay-breasted Warbler, which really is at the top of my list after that unfortunate event.

Well, tonight we came home late from a long day of running kids around and such.  It was a pretty warm day and it stormed tonight so we have a bunch of fog setting in.  It was 8 PM and no birds were at the feeders.  I always check when I walk by the window.  As I was getting everyone situated I heard the loud thud at the front window.  The regulars never fly into the window anymore (all my crazy methods are finally working) but every once in a great while something will.  Tonight it was a Canada Warbler, a female, she hit hard.  I ran out to see if I could find the bird and it was laying right below the window.  She was breathing and trying to move around so I ran and got a small box to put her in so she could try to recover.  Unfortunately when I checked on her a few minutes later, she had expired.  Warblers are not the birds you will see out at a seed feeder.  They eat small insects, some berries and nectar.  So she was just around the yard and unfortunately the fog probably didn’t help her navigating tonight.

Canada Warbler - window

Since this is now a morbid, dead bird post, here is the Bay-breasted Warbler too.  Blasted Warblers!  I look forward to seeing the beautiful warblers every Spring.  Not like this though!

Bay-breasted Warbler - 2009

Comments
2 Responses to “Suicide Warblers”
  1. Linda says:

    Oh gasp! I love warblers, too! You must live in an incredible area to have Canada warblers kicking around your place. I miss the warblers from out East.

    Funny though, you can never quite appreciate their size, until you hold one in your hand/see it up close. They are little wonders of nature, aren’t they?

  2. Shelly says:

    They are amazing little birds and not easy to spot usually. I would much rather have the difficult task of scoping out a living one than finding them this way though 😦

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Stats

    • 11,612 hits
  • Fatbirder's Top 1000 Birding Websites Nature Blog Network
