60 degrees and strawberries

 

Strawberries in February

These strawberries, and the unusually warm weather, inspired me to get out and clear a bunch of the beds today.  The littles all being off school made for excellent garden help also, although only ice cream would persuade them really.  I guess only old moms like myself fall for the strawberry trick.  Oh who am I kidding, I had a big bowl of ice cream with them.

I still need to take care of this red cedar that split in the last big wind storm that came through.  I will need to employ my husband for this task or a chain saw.  The tree is forked at the base so one side is still standing.  I want to leave it since it is in the middle of a row of cedars but I am worried it will be too weak and take out the fence.  Common sense should tell me to just go shopping for a new cedar and hope for really fast growth.

Cedar down

Leave a comment

  • Blog Stats

    • 19,731 hits
  • Fatbirder's Top 1000 Birding Websites Nature Blog Network